THE BLUES FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES 37TH BLUES MUSIC AWARD NOMINEES

COOK CONVENTION CENTER DOWNTOWN MEMPHIS

PARIS - MEMPHIS, 16.12.2015, 14:58 Time

USPA NEWS - The Blues Foundation is pleased just announced the nominations for its annual Blues Music Awards, which the international organization will present at the Cook Convention Center in downtown Memphis, Tennessee, on Thursday, May 5, 2016...

The Blues Foundation is pleased just announced the nominations for its annual Blues Music Awards, which the international organization will present at the Cook Convention Center in downtown Memphis, Tennessee, on Thursday, May 5, 2016.

The Blues Music Awards are universally recognized as the highest accolade afforded blues music performers. The annual Blues Music Awards ceremony is the premier event for blues professionals, musicians, and fans from all over the world.

The focus of this celebration is to honor this rich cultural tradition by recognizing the past year's superior achievements in blues performance, songwriting, and recording.

James Harman leads the list with five nominations, with Anthony Geraci and Sugaray Rayford close behind with four nominations each. Harman and Geraci will go head to head in three categories: Best Song, Best Album, and Best Traditional Blues Album. Harman's special gift at musical storytelling combined with the soulful sound on his newest release 'Bonetime' propelled him to a nomination as Best Traditional Male Blues Artist, and his strong musicianship opened the door for a nomination as Best Instrumentalist-Harmonica, while Geraci's piano finesse led to a nomination for the Pinetop Perkins Piano Player.

Rayford, with a more modern sound, received nods for Contemporary Blues Album and Contemporary Blues Male Artist as well as Best Song and B.B. King Entertainer. 2016 Grammy nominated Cedric Burnside and Shemekia Copeland along with Doug MacLeod, The Cash Box Kings, Victor Wainwright and Wee Willie Walker each received three nominations.

A ballot will be soon be sent to all Blues Foundation members as they have the privilege of deciding which nominees will actually take home a Blues Music Award in May.

37TH BLUES MUSIC AWARD NOMINEES

- Acoustic Album

Doug MacLeod - Exactly Like This
Duke Robillard - The Acoustic Blues & Roots of Duke Robillard
Eric Bibb - Blues People
Guy Davis - Kokomo Kidd
The Ragpicker String Band - The Ragpicker String Band

- Acoustic Artist

Doug MacLeod Eric Bibb Gaye Adegbalola Guy Davis Ian Siegal

- Album

Anthony Geraci & the Boston Blues All-Stars - Fifty Shades of Blue Buddy Guy - Born to Play Guitar James Harman - Bonetime The Cash Box Kings - Holding Court Wee Willie Walker - If Nothing Ever Changes

- Band

Andy T - Nick Nixon Band Rick Estrin & the Nightcats Sugar Ray & the Bluetones The Cash Box Kings Victor Wainwright & the Wild Roots

- B.B. King Entertainer

John Németh Rick Estrin Shemekia Copeland Sugaray Rayford Victor Wainwright

- Best New Artist Album

Eddie Cotton - One at a Time Igor Prado Band - Way Down South Mighty Mike Schermer "" Blues in Good Hands Mr. Sipp - The Blues Child Slam Allen - Feel These Blues

- Contemporary Blues Album

Buddy Guy - Born to Play Guitar
Eugene Hideaway Bridges - Hold on a Little Bit Longer
Shemekia Copeland - Outskirts of Love
Sonny Landreth - Bound by the Blues
Sugaray Rayford "" Southside

- Contemporary Blues Female Artist

Beth Hart Karen Lovely Nikki Hill Samantha Fish Shemekia Copeland

- Contemporary Blues Male Artist

Brandon Santini Eugene Hideaway Bridges Jarekus Singleton Joe Louis Walker Sugaray Rayford

- Historical Album

The Henry Gray/Bob Corritore Sessions, Vol. 1, Blues Won't Let Me Take My Rest on Delta Groove Records Hawk Squat by J. B. Hutto & His Hawks on Delmark Records
Southside Blues Jam by Junior Wells on Delmark Records
Buzzin' the Blues by Slim Harpo on Bear Family Records
Dynamite! The Unsung King of the Blues by Tampa Red on Ace Records

- Instrumentalist-Bass

Charlie Wooton Lisa Mann Michael "Mudcat" Ward Patrick Rynn Willie J. Campbell

- Instrumentalist-Drums

Cedric Burnside Jimi Bott June Core Tom Hambridge Tony Braunagel

- Instrumentalist-Guitar

Anson Funderburgh Kid Andersen Monster Mike Welch Ronnie Earl Sonny Landreth

- Instrumentalist-Harmonica

Billy Branch Brandon Santini James Harman Jason Ricci Kim Wilson

- Instrumentalist-Horn

Al Basile Doug James Kaz Kazanoff Sax Gordon Terry Hanck

- Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female)

Diunna Greenleaf Fiona Boyes Ruthie Foster Trudy Lynn Zora Young

- Pinetop Perkins Piano Player

Allen Toussaint Anthony Geraci Barrelhouse Chuck John Ginty Victor Wainwright

- Rock Blues Album of the Year

Joe Bonamassa - Muddy Wolf at Red Rocks Joe Louis Walker - Everybody Wants a Piece Royal Southern Brotherhood - Don't Look Back Tinsley Ellis - Tough Love Walter Trout - Battle Scars

- Song

'Bad Feet/Bad Hair' written and performed by James Harman

'Fifty Shades of Blue' written by Anthony Geraci and performed by Anthony Geraci & the Boston Blues All-Stars

'Gonna Live Again' written and performed by Walter Trout

'Southside of Tow' written by Sugaray Rayford and & Ralph Carter and performed by Sugaray Rayford"'You Got It Good (and That Ain't Bad)' written and performed by Doug MacLeod

- Soul Blues Album

Bey Paule Band - Not Goin' Away Billy Price & Otis Clay - This Time for Real Jackie Payne - I Saw the Blues Tad Robinson - Day into Night Wee Willie Walker - If Nothing Ever Changes

- Soul Blues Female Artist

Bettye LaVette Dorothy Moore Missy Anderson Toni Lynn Washington Vaneese Thomas

- Soul Blues Male Artist

Frank Bey Jackie Payne Johnny Rawls Otis Clay Wee Willie Walker

- Traditional Blues Album

Andy T - Nick Nixon Band - Numbers Man Anthony Geraci & the Boston Blues All-Stars - Fifty Shades of Blue Cedric Burnside Project - Descendants of Hill Country James Harman - Bonetime The Cash Box Kings - Holding Court - Traditional Blues Male Artist

Cedric Burnside
Dave Alvin & Phil Alvin
James Harman
Jimmy Burns
John Primer

Source: The Blues Foundation

Ruby BIRD http://www.portfolio.uspa24.com/ Yasmina BEDDOU http://www.yasmina-beddou.uspa24.com/

Article online:

https://www.uspa24.com/bericht-6762/the-blues-foundation-announces-37th-blues-music-award-nominees.html

Editorial office and responsibility:

V.i.S.d.P. & Sect. 6 MDStV (German Interstate Media Services Agreement): Ruby BIRD & Yasmina BEDDOU (Journalists/Directors)

Exemption from liability:

The publisher shall assume no liability for the accuracy or completeness of the published report and is merely providing space for the submission of and access to third-party content. Liability for the content of a report lies solely with the author of such report. Ruby BIRD & Yasmina BEDDOU (Journalists/Directors)

Editorial program service of General News Agency:

United Press Association, Inc. 3651 Lindell Road, Suite D168 Las Vegas, NV 89103, USA (702) 943.0321 Local (702) 943.0233 Facsimile info@unitedpressassociation.org info@gna24.com www.gna24.com